Lessons Learned in Business

Why am I so inconsistent . . . . always?

I think about this question a lot.  “Why am I so inconsistent?”  Unless you count being consistently inconsistent, that is.

This question arose in me again today as a result of a diet/lifestyle change I recently bought into.  I was watching podcasts on women entrepreneurs, to surround myself with successful people (i.e. one’s tribe) and an inspiring interview came on with Natalie Jill.  She told of her rise from overweight single mom, deeply in debt, no money to put gas in her car, to 6-pack abs, new hot hubby, 7 figure income, I’ve got life by the tail journey.  It’s inspiring like I said. One of her keys to success is helping people change their diet for the better.

My current story is similar  . . . . minus the 6 pack abs and 7 figure income . . . . I’ve kind of got a hot hubby when he gets around to getting a hair cut and shave.  My dilemma is this stupid “pooch” which has formed on my lower tummy, shortly after having 2 babies and reaching 40.  And this stupid “pooch” will not go away, no matter what.  I have decided I will not chalk it up to “what happens when you get older”, and I will not simply accept “the pooch”.  I felt so inspired that if Miss Natalie could lose the baby bulge at 40, then surely I could at 45.  Right?  I mean, it’s not like I want to transform myself into a 6-pack ab sportin’ hot momma, I just want this stupid “pooch” to GO AWAY!  (I get a little worked up about it, sorry for yelling)  So I decided to give ole “Natalie Jill’s 7-day Jump Start a shot, which was so conveniently easy with one click of the mouse and a mere $27 out of my pocket.  A cheap investment in my “pooch” I thought.

And . . . . here I am on day 3.  I’ve followed her meal suggestions (for the most part) and on days 1 & 2, I felt confident that I could do this and make a long term dietary change that would include much more veggies, lettuce, kale, spinach, fish and chicken, just to name a few.  Her meal suggestions are mostly realistic – quite a bit different from my current meals, but mostly realistic.  I ate a hunk of fish or chicken at lunch with a big salad and guess what?  By day 3, I feel like I’ve eaten 10 pounds of meat and way too much lettuce/spinach.  Needless to say, I was beginning to tip . . . . . over and fall off the wagon.

Then, as I was stitching this morning, I turned on Ted Talks from You Tube and listened to fantastic speakers about “mindset”.  And one that stuck out to me (I watched it 3 times) was how “mindset” is life changing. In fact, one speaker presented research conducted on how mindset alone can change one’s physical body, without increasing excercise or changing diet.  Hmm.  I’m intrigued.  In particular, what stuck to me like glue was that we all have a “hunger hormone” that is secreted/increases when we need food, telling our brains to find food.  Once we find food and begin eating, that hormone level decreases to tell our brains to stop eating, and then our metabolism kicks in to begin burning all the food/fuel we’ve just consumed.  Our metabolism is directly related to the levels of our hunger hormone, so if the hunger hormone is high, our metabolism is low, and likewise if our hunger hormone levels are low (we’ve eaten a great meal) then our metabolism kicks it up a notch (is high).  The kicker, was that folks that were given a “healthy” milkshake (0 fat, 60 calories, yada yada), versus a “delightful indulgence” milkshake (50g fat, 300 calories, etc) would secrete MORE hunger hormone (i.e slower metabolism) after consuming the healthy shake. The folks that got the yummy scrummy milkshake had much LESS hunger hormone (i.e. much higher metabolism).  Both milkshakes were the exact same!  The ones that thought they were drinking a yummy scrummy loaded milkshake, well their metabolisms were rockin and the ones drinking the healthy shakes were doggin it.  Hmmm, really intrigued now.

After this, it was time for lunch.  And after learning about mindset, I decided that it’s not realistic of me to think I’m going to eat a piece of fish and a salad for lunch and my metabolism will kick it up a notch and help me burn off this “pooch”.  Hell no!  What that Ted Talk on mindset showed me is that I can eat a yummy lunch which I enjoy and I’ll get more out of it, than I would out of my fish ‘n salad lunch.  I felt a bit deprived on fish/salad, so my metabolism would follow suit.

As I sat on the porch eating my bologna, ham, pepperoni, cheese, lettuce w/plenty of mayo sub sandwich with a lovely handful of Cheetos, I got to thinking about how I am inconsistent at so many things.

I enjoyed my lunch today, I mean really enjoyed it.  My fish/chicken lunches had been tasty, but not “oh yum”.

I’m inconsistent and that is okay. And now I know I can simply mentally envision my pooch shrinking and by the power of my subconscious brain it will magically begin to do so.  Yay! I love magic.

I’m consistent on the things that matter; loving my little boys, giving to others, being thankful, telling those that matter how much i love them.  And I’m inconsistent on all of the rest, including my work – – which is a whole other blog post – ha!.

I’m good with that.

 

Leave a Reply

