Tips for Better Applique

What Fusible Webbing Do I Use?

Ahhhh.  Fusible Webbing.  If you applique it is definitely your friend.  It’s certainly mine.  One question I receive often is, “what fusible webb do you prefer”.

Up to 4 weeks ago, I would tell you that I personally did not have a preference.  That’s because I’d never tried anything other than Heat n Bond.  Yep, never.  Anything else.  Ghee, maybe the company that makes that should read this post – ha ha.

Well, I did say up until 4 weeks ago didn’t I.  So what happened?  I ran my bolt clean out.  Empty.  Nada, nil, zilch.  Crap. (my actual word)

Towel-DecJanFeb

I needed to finish a couple new towel samples for this new pattern, but didn’t have the time to wait for a new bolt to be shipped in.  We quilters are antsy ya know.  No patience when we’re in the heat of a project.

So, I asked my Mom, (aka Merry of Merry’s Stitchins) if she had a little to spare.  She too had just had a hot run on the stuff and was nearly out.  Well, I couldn’t wipe her out, being she’s a retail quilt shop and all.  But she did offer me some “Steam a Seam”.  Hmm.  So I gave it a try.

It has what I think are pros:

  • it’s lighter than Heat n Bond, so my fabric isn’t as stiff
  • when you peel off the backing paper, it’s a bit sticky so it stays in place quite easily before you fuse it with an iron

But it had one pro that will probably keep me with my ‘ole reliable

  • it gummed up the needle on my machine – I had a little puff ball of lint that would build up quickly about half way up my needle and when I rubbed the needle to remove the puff, I could feel the needle was sticky

So, I now have a new answer to the question “what fusible webb do you prefer”.

My answer is Heat n Bond Lite.  It has all pros for me:

  • it does not leave a sticky film on your needle
  • it comes in Lite and Heavy – use the heavy if you don’t want to stitch around something as it fuses strong enough not to need it.

Yep.  That’s my answer and I’m stickin’ to it.

~Julie

p.s.  oh, did you like that towel pattern?  There’s one for every season.  Check them out here on our website

Leave a Reply

