Uncategorized

Look What I’m Designing for Christmas

Christmas I find to be a super duper easy theme to design for. No. “Super duper easy” doesn’t accurately describe it – it’s more like, I could sneeze and pop out a cute Christmas design.

As I said in my previous post (click here to see previous reveal), at this very moment in time I am working on creating several new patterns, and I am at my favorite part of the process.  I’ve created the design, fused it all down and now it’s ready to applique by machine or hand. And, let me say that it’s nearly impossible for me to convey in words, the pure exhiliration of this exact moment in my designing process.

Here is one for all you Farmgirls out there:

It features a windmill for the ‘O’. It will measure approximately 6.5″ x 13″ when finished. This one is done in cotton (see below for a wool version) and would you again like to know about that background? That is gray/white (version) with white snowflakes and an all over sparkle to it (“Forest Frost” by Sentimental Studios – for Moda.)This picture does not do it justice, as pictures never do. By the way, I tried searching for this fabric line online, and it looks like several quilt shops still have some of it. But fabric companies only print a fabric once, so if you love and find it, ya better snag it. Don’t dilly around is all I’m sayin’.

I couldn’t resist doing it in wool too.

Have you dipped your toes into the wool pool yet? Wool gives you portability – you can hand stitch on a small wool project anywhere, not to mention it can save your sanity should you find yourself waiting (for-ever) in any Dr. office.

If you’re reluctant to get into the wool pool, would you please share with me “why”? I’d like to know. Perhaps create helpful tutorials for you and others with the same fear.

And, which threads will I be using to machine the cotton sample . . . well  my Valdani 35wt variegated threads, of course, which I use for 99% of my machine blanket stitching needs. I’ll likely be using the brown, cottage grey and vibrant reds for this particular design.

We have my personal thread collection available on our website – click here. In case you need a simple, go-to thread collection that is.

And don’t forget, this is just the 2nd look at several new designs in the works. Oh yeah campers, there’s more sneekin’ and peekin’ a comin’.

Happy Stitchin’ folks – thanks for keeping me on your radar.

~Julie~

Leave a Reply

