Uncategorized

Changing Seasons (The Assistant)

You probably looked at the title of this post and and said to yourself, “I get the changing seasons, but what the heck is (The Assistant)?!”  Well,  I am Julie’s new-ish assistant.  I’ve been around since the end of July.  My name is Sabra (pronounced Say-bra).  I am blessed to have the opportunity to work with Julie at Patch Abilities.  I’ve invaded her work, email, phone, and now this blog.  🙂

This is a new season in my life- to work for a small business owner.  I’m one of those people who’s always worked for “Corporate America.”  Big business where lots of people in some far off office are making decisions about your day to day activities.  It is a breath of fresh air to be exposed to this world of small business.  I am amazed with the innovation and flexibility of small business owners.  I am excited to have the opportunity to work for Julie, the amazing designer and creative genius behind Patch Abilities.  I count myself lucky every day to have this position.  (I’m not just saying that because she’s payin’ me… I really mean it!!!)

Change.  It’s inevitable.  We leave one season of our lives to enter another.  Sometimes in life there’s BIG CHANGES- like me, making a new, big career move.  Sometimes it’s little like driving a new way to work or eating at a new restaurant.  Change can be scary, but also very exciting.  You will never know what’s out there for you if you resist that change.  You have to risk for the reward.

I just wanted to take a moment to appreciate the changes in life and in each season.  Right now in my little corner of the world, it is fall.  You can feel change.  The leaves are turning beautiful shades of gold, orange, and red.  The air is crisp.  When the sun is shining, everything is bright and clear.  It is beautiful.  In Iowa, fall is a wonderful season.  Sweatshirt and jeans weather…my favorite.  It’s also a short season.  Soon the snow will fly…and it will be cold, cold, cold.  So for now, we will enjoy the season that we are in.

I hope that you are enjoying the season that you’re in right now!!

~Sabra (The Assistant)

2 thoughts on “Changing Seasons (The Assistant)

  1. Sabra – Welcome aboard! I love Julie’s patterns and I’m glad she will have help in getting more done. The patterns are great and I’ve gotten so much enjoyment out of them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

